iTunes Music on iPhone

IMG_0275

My iPhone is the 16 GB model. My iTunes library is over 100 GB. Clearly, I have to pick and choose what music is on my iPhone at any given time. During the season, I sync’d all my Christmas music to the phone. And I go through phases of listening to new music by new artists and listening to old favorites (recently, Fleetwood Mac’s “Rumours”, The Eagles, Cock Robin, or some comedy).

But, I recently noticed that when I looked at my iPhone’s music library, I didn’t just see a selection of my library, I saw the entire library. But, since I knew it couldn’t all be there, I knew there must be something else to it, namely that little picture of a cloud to the right with a downward-pointing arrow: “Download from the Cloud”

IMG_0276

This is actually pretty cool. If you are ever on the go and decide that you suddenly have to listen to Eddy Grant’s “Electric Avenue,” well, you can find it in your list of songs, download it and listen to it. Yay!

But, if I just want to open the Music app and play a random shuffle of what’s available, it’s harder (well, without Siri it is….), because I have to first find something that’s already been downloaded, play it and then make sure shuffle is on.

Today, I found out there is a way to hide the items that are not actually on the device, and it’s really easy.

Settings > Music > Show All Music > Off (the last button in the image)

That’s it. Now, when you look at your music, you’ll only see what’s on the device.

Tags: , , , , ,

About zonkeringeneva

An American with a German son living in Geneva with a new Boxer-Labrador puppy name Xoë. I can be found on Facebook (kicking and screaming!), Google Plus (crickets), glocals.com (I'm Zonker), and zicount.com. Ask me anything IT related. I'm sure I'll have something useful to say.

Leave a Reply

